Bruce Warner (9
"TO: Vonda Wood RE: GLUTEN - AND ALL DOVES"
Thanks for your post (8
Sep 2010).You are correct that Barley is also listed on 'foods to
avoid' containing gluten or related gluten-peptides for some 'strict'
Gluten is the complex natural 'storage
protein' of Wheat and is used as an 'umbrella term', although it is not
technically correct to include Barley, Rye, and Oats.
also contains a natural 'storage protein' that is called 'Hordein',
which is a 'gluten peptide', a less complex storage protein.
Complex Wheat gluten 'storage proteins' are called 'Glutenin' and 'Gliadin'.
summary, it is fair to say that Barley, although not free from
gluten-related protein peptides; Barley is free of the type of
the two complex glutens that binds Wheat flour.
YBIC, Bruce Warner