Bruce Warner (6
"THE 'BRIDE OF CHRIST' IS 'GLUTEN-FREE'"
The differences between
Barley and Wheat are interesting in the way that they are used in
Scripture to metaphorically describe differences. Barley is a grain
that does NOT contain 'gluten' which is a 'glue-like' plant protein
found in Wheat.
Barley is easily separated from its husk
because it lacks the gluten that makes Wheat 'hard' to separate from
its husk on the threshing floor. Wheat needs to be 'tribulated'
on the threshing floor to separate the grain from its husk. Barley does
not. The 'Bride of Christ' does not need to be 'tribulated'.
flour is usually barley flour or a mixture of mostly barley and flax
flour. When mixed into a dough it is not 'sticky' like wheat flour
dough. It would be extremely difficult to make a pizza dough that could
be tossed in the air to stretch it. It would 'fly-apart' in pieces.
is the 'first grain' (ie. the firstfruits of grain) (Leviticus 23:15)
to be harvested in the late Spring of the year around Pentecost,
followed by wheat which is harvested later in the Summer or early Fall
around Rosh Hashanah/Feast of Trumpets.
appear "white" (John 4:34-36)when they are ready for harvest around
Pentecost,whereas wheat fields appear 'golden' when they are ready for
harvest around Feast of Trumpets.
People who pursue a
gluten-free diet can obtain Barley bread or Barley flour from
health-food stores. A 'reduced gluten' bread (not glueten free) is
available at most large-chain supermarkets in the freezer section, and
is known a 'Ezekiel Bread' (ie.Ezekiel 4:9).
Come Lord Jesus!