Bruce Baber (21 Feb 2011)
"List of major & minor Jewish holidays for 2011"

 

This is a list of major and minor Jewish holidays for the remainder of our current calendar year copied from GodWeb.  With recent and ongoing events taking place, the holidays in March might be significant regarding war in the Middle East.  From Passover in April through June 8th might prove to be significant for those of us who are watching for the rapture.  Just speculating.

 

Thursday 17 March

Fast of Esther (Taanit Esther)

A fast in commemoration of the fast of Mordechai and Esther. This is not a major Jewish fast.

Sunday 20 March

Purim

Purim commemorates the time when the Jewish people living in Persia were saved from extermination by the courage of a young Jewish woman called Esther.

Monday 21 March

Shushan Purim

In some places Purim is celebrated one day later. In this case it is called Shushan Purim.

Monday 18 April

Fast of the Firstborn

Observed only by firstborn males, on the day before Passover. This fast celebrates the survival of Jewish firtborn sons from the 10th Plague of Egypt.

Tuesday 19 April

Passover (1st day)

The start of the season of Passover when Jews commemorate the liberation of the Children of Israel who were led out of Egypt by Moses. Work is not permitted on the first two and the last two days of Passover.

Tuesday 26 April

Passover (final day)

The eighth and final day of Passover. Note that Passover lasts for seven days in Israel.

Sunday 1 May

Yom Hashoah

The Jewish Holocaust Memorial Day. The date is chosen as the closest date (in the Jewish calendar) to the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising.

Sunday 8 May

Yom Hazikaron

A day of remembrance on the day preceding Israel's Independence Day.

Monday 9 May

Yom Ha'atzmaut

Israel's Independence Day

Sunday 22 May

Lag B'Omer

A minor holiday on the 33rd day of the Omer commemorating a break in the plague during the lifetime of Rabbi Akiva.

Wednesday 1 June

Yom Yerushalayim

Jerusalem Day

Wednesday 8 June

Shavuot (1st day)

Shavuot is a two-day festival that marks the time when the first harvest was taken to the Temple. Also known as the Festival of Weeks. Work is not permitted for the duration of the festival.

Tuesday 19 July

17th Tammuz

An important Jewish fast day.

Tuesday 9 August

Tisha B'Av

A solemn day that commemorates a series of tragedies that have befallen the Jewish people over the years, many of which have coincidentally happened on this day.

Thursday 29 September

Rosh Hashanah (1st day)

Jewish New Year. A two-day festival during which work is not permitted.

Saturday 1 October

Fast of Gedalliah

Fast in memory of the assassination of Gedalliah Ben Achikam, the Governor of Israel during the days of Nebuchadnetzar, King of Babylonia.

Saturday 8 October

Yom Kippur

Day of Atonement - the most solemn day of the Jewish year.

Thursday 13 October

Sukkot

Sukkot or The Feast of Tabernacles, commemorates the years that the Jews spent in the desert on their way to the Promised Land, and celebrates the way in which God took special care of them under impossible conditions. Sukkot lasts for seven days, and work is not permitted on the first two days.

Wednesday 19 October

Hoshanah Rabbah

The 7th day of Sukkot.

Thursday 20 October

Shemini Atzeret

Shemini Atzeret can be translated as "the assembly of the eighth (day)." In Israel the festival is combined with Simchat Torah.

Friday 21 October

Simchat Torah

Simchat Torah means "Rejoicing in the Torah." This holiday marks the completion of the yearly cycle of weekly Torah readings.

Tuesday 13 December

10th Tevet

An important Jewish fast day.

Wednesday 21 December

Hanukkah

Hanukkah is the Festival of Lights and marks the restoration of the temple by the Maccabees in 164 BCE. Hanukkah is celebrated at roughly the same time as Christmas, but there is no connection at all between the festivals.